Interview with Max Vos

Greetings, blog-readers!

Today, I’m thrilled to have Max Vos as my guest!  Max is an author of gay erotica and gay erotic romance books — and his newest, My Hero: The Olympian, is out today!

Let’s jump into this interview…

Tell us about My Hero: The Olympian.

My Hero: The Olympian is a continuance of the story of My Hero. The two main characters, Johnny Milloway and Rich Miller, move on from just dating to being partners, learning more about each other and evolving into mature men, while dodging the pitfalls of being gay and star athletes.

Do we need to read My Hero before My Hero: The Olympian? What can those who did read My Hero look forward to seeing in the sequel?

No, you don’t have to read My Hero to enjoy this book but it would help. There’s a lot of history that makes it a better story.

If you had read the first book, then you’ll see these two move ahead as a couple, maturing as they grow and evolve together.

What inspired or motivated you to write the My Hero series?

I never intended to make this a series. I wrote the first one after having watched the summer Olympics and it was the start of football season. The story pretty much wrote itself. The next one took more time. It’s a much larger book also. There was a lot more of their story to tell and readers really wanted more.

Can we hope to see a third entry in the series?

Oh hell no. This one nearly killed me.

Hehehe… 🙂

What was the hardest or most difficult scene to write?

The epilogue.

What’s the most difficult part of writing a sex scene?

Keeping up with whose leg or arm belongs to who.

What’s your favorite part about writing a sex scene?

Sex scenes for me are pretty easy, they seem to flow for me.

What kind of research went into this book?

A lot of research went into this book. Places, times and diving techniques as well as training for Olympic athletes took a lot of time.

Describe your writing routine.

I wake up, have coffee, check email and then I start. I write best early in the morning and typically write four to five hours a day.

What made you decide to write this genre?

It’s what I know.

Where do you like to write? Home? Coffee shop? Subway ride to work?

I typically write best when I am home. No distractions.

Somewhere else? I have written next to the sea, which was nice. Not sure I could do it all the time.

What was your most favorite scene to write?

There is one particular character in this book that I love. Any scene she is in makes me happy.

What’s your most favorite book you’ve read? Why?

So many… I still think To Kill a Mockingbird is still one of my all-time favorite reads.

What’s your most favorite book you’ve written? Why?

The V Unit. I wrote it on a dare/challenge. I swore I’d never write a vampire book, and then did. There are a lot of characters in that book that are so different.

What drew you to this genre?

When I first retired I was looking for something to read, something to help take up some of all this time I suddenly had. I also wanted something that had gay characters in it. I was, once again dared… by the same person, to start writing. I’d complained about what rubbish there was out there.

Why did you decide to self-publish?

I decided to become an Indie author when I was totally screwed by a publisher.

How did you feel when you heard a publisher wants your book?

Ecstatic. Thrilled.

(I guess that was before you got screwed…?)

Are you writing anything now? Can you tell us about it?

I am. I’m about halfway through another book. The two main characters each have PTSD for completely different reasons. It’s a book about learning and moving on.

Do you have any upcoming releases?

My Hero recently came out on audio, which is fantastic. The V Unit will be coming out in January on audio and then of course, My Hero: The Olympian will be out on the 15th of this month.

Of the covers you have for your works, which one is your favorite?

Going Home. I think it is one of the most beautiful covers I’ve ever seen. I use only one cover artist who seems to be able to nail every time.

Can you describe the editing process? Was it difficult?

The editing process is the most difficult and important part of self-publishing. Once I’m done with the manuscript, I send it to a select few beta readers who tear it apart and then I get to put it back together. That’s all before I send it off to a professional editor. Before a book is released, I’ve gone over it at least five times, often a lot more.

Do you like music while you write? Or do you prefer total silence?

First thing in the morning, I’m listening to the news and then music.

Which of your characters is your favorite? Why?

I think Johnny Milloway is my favorite at the moment. He goes for what he wants and once he makes up his mind, it is done.

Which of your characters was the hardest to write? Why?

Sam Stone was the hardest I think. (P.O.W.) He goes through a lot physically and mentally.

Do you have any advice for writers who want to try this genre?

Stay away from the drama.

Which of your characters would you like to meet in person? What would you say or do with that character?

Sarge from P.O.W. He’s just so damned hot!

Thanks for stopping by, Max!  If any folks would like to learn more about Max, click here to visit his website.

And, blog-readers, don’t forget to stop on by Amazon and pick up your copy of My Hero: The Olympian, which releases today!

2 Comments

Filed under Author Interview, Erotic Voices

2 responses to “Interview with Max Vos

  1. so happy to read an interview with one of my favorite authors/people Mr. Max Vos!!!

  2. Reblogged this on Books,Coffee & Captured Moments and commented:
    My Hero: The Olympian releases today. (Yay!) Check out this great interview with Max at Cameron D James blog.

Leave a Reply

