Unleashed by Quil McKay

UnleashedAmazon

Greetings blog-lovers!

Today I’m thrilled to have Quil McKay as my special guest.  Quil’s new book, Unleashed, was released on April 16th and it’s already in the top 100 gay erotica list on Amazon!  (Currently, it’s at #44!)

Here’s the blurb for Unleashed:

Hunkered deep in the closet, Austin struggles between internalized homophobia and lust for the perfect boy next door.

Will he confront his demons or stay hidden?

I snagged an interview with Quil, so let’s get to know him a little better:

Tell us a little bit about yourself, Quil.

My name is Quil McKay. I’ve written since I was 7 years old as a hobby. This year I was able to become a full time writer. Unleashed is my second published novel.

Tell us a little bit about Unleashed.

This novel came from combining part of my childhood with a friend’s. The loneliness and pressure Austin feels is something I’ve gone through. Trying to keep it together in public is nearly impossible with you’re going through so much trauma at home. Sadly, I can relate to the struggle with poverty and his wish to hide it.

My first novel dealt with social taboo and in this book I wanted to focus on inner turmoil.

Tell us about your main character and his world.

My main character in Unleashed is Austin Green. While does Austin suffers from internalized homophobia and that creates a lot of drama, the main source of his problem is self-loathing on almost every level. He doesn’t always deal with his circumstances positively. He comments that life has him by the balls, and I have often felt that way. This was fairly easy to write.

Which of your characters would you most like to meet?

I would love to meet any or all of my characters and take them out for drinks. I have put them through some serious shit.

What was the hardest or most difficult scene to write in Unleashed?

For some reason these sex scenes weren’t difficult. I’m not sure why, maybe I identified enough with these characters that it felt completely natural. I have written difficult scenes before but none in this novel.

I’ve always found sex scenes have a different feel to them and that can sometimes make them difficult to write.  Surely there were some difficulties in the sex scenes, right?

Being creative with sex scenes is the hardest part for me. What have I not done before in any of my other scenes? What’s a new and interested element I can bring to this scene?

But sex scenes aren’t all hard work.  What’s your favourite part about writing a sex scene?

My favorite part is when my readers comment that the scene was steamy. I am always nervous when something is sent to the beta readers. I freak out until I hear back.

What made you decide to write in this genre?

I wanted to write this genre because I couldn’t find very many full length novels. Some people seem to write this genre in short stories (ex. I’ve seen 30 pages before). While there are a few full length novels, it’s not like other genres. I thought I would try and see if people liked it.

Now that Unleashed is out (and on the top 100 gay erotica list), do you have another project in the works?

I’m currently working on a new novel called The Bartender. This novel deals with the religious and someone who is gay. I was raised in a strict religious home with no tolerance for LGBT matters. This not a book about religion. The main character was raised in a very religious environment and part of the book shows his interaction with family members who have never changed their belief system.

Hmm… sounds interesting — I’m looking forward to The Bartender!

But while we all wait for The Bartender, you should definitely check out Unleashed!  Click here to find the book on Amazon.  (And if you’re a Kindle Unlimited subscriber, you can get the book for free!)

And if you’d like to learn more about Quil, you can follow him on Twitter.

UnleashedAmazon

Leave a comment

Filed under Erotic Voices, Sexy Saturday

Leave a Reply

