Erotic Voices: Ingela Bohm

Welcome to this week’s Erotic Voices, in which we meet an author of m/m erotic fiction.

Today’s guest is Ingela Bohm!

7885564

Road Taken snygg framsidaTell us about your latest release.

The Road Taken is the second instalment in a series about a seventies progressive rock band called Pax Cymrica. It picks up a few months after the cliffhanger in the first book, Just Playing, and it follows Jamie and Michael as they struggle to make it as professional musicians. Both their manager and the record company forbid them to continue their relationship, and they try to obey, but the music is suffering as much as they are. Then they get the idea that perhaps one of them should get a girlfriend, in order to divert attention away from their attraction to each other. Unfortunately, this brings with it a whole new set of problems that ultimately threatens to destroy the band.

 Just Playing snygg framsida

What kind of research went into this book?

I’ve had to learn a lot about music, especially seventies music and what was possible/typical to do back then when it comes to recording and performing. I don’t really play anything myself, apart from really bad piano and guitar, so I had to interview people in the know about a lot of details, like time signatures and guitar brands and how a studio works. The most fun part was finding out what a reverb room is like, and whether you can have sex in it! (You can.)

Can you describe the editing process? Was it difficult?

Editing is actually my favorite part of writing. I mean, I do enjoy the bits of the first draft that come easily – when the words just seem to flow out of me – but I’m also plagued by the artist’s fear of the white page. When I draw pictures, they often turn out better if the paper is torn or used, and it’s the same with my writing: I just need to begin by filling the page with any old garbage. Those early versions are often woefully bad, because at that stage I’m just trying to get the plot to work. Afterwards, when I’ve got the “skeleton”, I really enjoy fleshing it out: looking for “bumps” and smoothing them out, expanding things that speak to me and cutting away the unnecessary stuff. That’s when the text becomes a story, and it’s magical to me.

 

What’s the most difficult part of writing a sex scene?

I think it’s difficult to make each scene unique, to say something new. Since the basic events involved are quite similar from one scene to the other, it’s sometimes hard to make them interesting. I solve this problem by using metaphors and imagery that tie in with themes in the story. For example, in the Pax books I use a lot of musical imagery, and in my upcoming vampire book there’s a focus on pounding pulses and wanting to sink your teeth into things. Even though it’s difficult, I enjoy finding new ways of describing the feelings and sensations involved. I also love to see my characters lose control a little: the way they’re irresistibly drawn to each other, the way their bodies betray them even as they try to play it cool…

Are you writing anything now? Can you tell us about it?

I’m working on several projects at the moment. I’m outlining a third book in the Pax series, tentatively called Nine Lives, which will take place about ten years down the road. This time Jamie is going to suffer for once! I tortured Michael so much in the second book that I feel he should get some rest – not that he won’t be touched by the things happening to Jamie, of course.

I’m also finishing up a dystopian vampire book, Last Communion, that I wrote in Swedish and which I am currently translating. It’s taking a lot more time than I anticipated, but I feel like it’s actually becoming a better story as I remold it to suit the English language.

Finally, I’m grappling with a book called Mindfuck, in which a guy called Jakob discovers that his friend Leo has written erotic stories about the two of them online. It’s a bit dark and a completely new area for me, so I’m both excited to write it and a little unsure of myself. However, I have an excellent beta reader who tells me when my plot isn’t up to scratch, so I’m hoping it will turn out great in the end.

image

Thanks for stopping by, Ingela!  I have to say the premise for Mindfuck sounds like it could get super hot!

If you’d like to connect with Ingela online, you can find her here:

And if you’d like to pick up a copy of The Road TakenJust Playing, or Ingela’s other works, you can find them here:

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Erotic Voices, Sexy Saturday

Leave a Reply

