Sexy Saturday: K-lee Klein

Sexy Saturday Header

Welcome to another Sexy Saturday!  This week’s guest is K-lee Klein!

Author Bio:

K-lee Klein has lived in one part of Western Canada or another for her entire life. She’s a doting mother of three now-grown kids, and has had characters and plots running around her head for as long as she can remember. Her days are filled with an abundance of fabulous gay men, large and small, bouncing off the walls of her skull, competing for their turns to tell their stories. K-lee has 4 novel-length books and more than 10 short stories and novellas with her three publishers MLR Press, Amber Allure and Less Than Three Press—plus many more in progress.

   

And now for the five Quickie Questions:

1) What was your first experience with erotica / erotic romance?

In truth I started out with gay films then suddenly realized there were also books I could swoon over. T.A. Chase and J.L. Langley broke my cherry so to speak, and from there I discovered slash/fanfiction in the Alexander the Great (film) and 30 Seconds to Mars fandoms.

2) Describe your journey from reading to writing to publication.

I devoured m/m books the second I discovered them. My first foray into actually putting words to page was writing Alexander and Hephaistion slash. I also dappled in bandslash, then found a group on GoodReads that not only fed my addiction, but also offered a chance to put original fiction from non-authors out there for people to read. I wrote Outfoxed from a letter/picture prompt to post in the group, and a writer I very much admired, SJ Frost, told me I should write something for her publisher. I was horrified at the prospect, but ended up submitting Finally Home to MLR and it was accepted in December 2011. It was surreal and unbelievably awesome and stressful all at the same time.

3) What scene or book was the biggest challenge to write?

My toughest book by far was Unbreak My Heart. I lean to the emotional side of writing and like nothing better than to get inside my characters heads and mess around. But my MC, Brett Taylor, managed to break me as much as I did him. I tell people that book nearly destroyed me and most especially Brett’s emotions and pain. He was in my head day and night, and there were a lot of scenes I wrote through my own tears. It was a highly emotional experience, and being an over-the-top emotional person anyway, it was very intense. That being said Brett is probably my favorite character of all those I’ve written and once I was able to work things out with him and for him, it was immensely satisfying and validating.

4) Do you have any tips or advice for aspiring writers of erotica / erotic romance?

I’m not sure I’m someone to ask for tips. I think I just slog along with whatever is in my head at the time or whatever my very bossy muse decides is on our plate. But I guess my biggest realization, and something I still struggle with, is teaching my heart to accept it’s okay that not everyone will like what I write. Reviews can be awesome and make you want to charge forward at top speed, but on the flipside they can be devastating if you aren’t prepared. You’ll never please everyone all the time, and in the long run you have to write for yourself not anyone else—at least that’s what I’m trying to remember.

5) Tell us a bit about your latest release.

Brett and JT from Unbreak My Heart are back in a short sequel called Unbroken Hearts. It comes out on Sunday, March 2, and will hopefully tie up some loose ends in Brett and JT’s relationship, as well as being sweet and sappy as hell. This one comes from JT’s head and heart so I hope everyone who liked the first book will enjoy this one too. Here’s the blurb and thank you so much for having me here.

JT Campbell knows Brett Taylor’s proclamation of love a few months earlier was true and honest, and Brett’s nothing if not sweet and attentive. But when the most romantic day of the year rolls around and Brett seems to be ignoring it, JT finds himself drowning in disappointment. Growing up, JT was never allowed to celebrate Valentine’s Day and was taught to reject the sappy, fake sentiments of the holiday. But would it be too much to expect Brett to at least acknowledge the day?

 

On top of that, JT can’t help but feel uneasy about the one huge reminder still standing on the ranch of Brett’s old lover.  JT tries hard to pretend it doesn’t bother him, but he worries that as long as it’s there, Brett will never fully be able to let Walt go and move forward with JT. Can an unexpected show of love and commitment soothe his fears?

Sounds like a great book, K-lee!

You can buy your copy of Unbroken Hearts by clicking here.

And if you’d like to learn more about K-lee and her super-hot books, check out:

Thanks for being my guest this week, K-lee!  And thanks to y’all for stopping by to check it out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Sexy Saturday

Leave a Reply

