Sexy Saturday: Lucy Felthouse

Sexy Saturday Header

Welcome to another week of Sexy Saturday, with today’s guest Lucy Felthouse!

Let’s learn more about Lucy —

Author Bio:

Lucy Felthouse is a very busy woman! She writes erotica and erotic romance in a variety of subgenres and pairings, and has over eighty publications to her name, with many more in the pipeline. These include several editions of Best Bondage Erotica, Best Women’s Erotica 2013 and Best Erotic Romance 2014. Another string to her bow is editing, and she has edited and co-edited a number of anthologies, and also edits for a small publishing house. She owns Erotica For All, and is book editor for Cliterati. Find out more at http://www.lucyfelthouse.co.uk. Join her on Facebook and Twitter, and subscribe to her newsletter at: http://eepurl.com/gMQb9

Latest Releases:

Illicit Relations, M/M erotic romance novella, published by Ellora’s Cave
Girls Rule, Boys Drool, F/F erotic anthology, published by House of Erotica
Mean Girls, M/F erotic romance novella, published by Ellora’s Cave
A Taste of Paris, M/F erotic short story, published by Ellora’s Cave

Quickie Questions:

1)   What was your first experience with erotica / erotic romance?

I actually started writing erotica before I started reading it. I was dared to write it after a conversation at University. I discovered I enjoyed it, so continued to write it and also started reading erotic anthologies and novels, mainly from Black Lace.

2)   Describe your journey from reading to writing to publication.

I was very lucky. One of my earliest short erotic stories (which I now look back on and cringe!) was accepted for publication by Scarlet Magazine, a UK magazine which has sadly now ceased publication. I quickly got addicted to seeing my stuff in print and started submitting elsewhere. Another of my early stories, Fantasy Assignment was accepted by Xcite Books for inclusion in their anthology Seriously Sexy 3, and from there I just kept writing and sending things off. Happily for me, a good portion of what I’ve written has been accepted.

3)   What scene or book was the biggest challenge to write?

My first novel, Stately Pleasures, was my biggest challenge. It took me a long time to make the move from short stories to longer works. First I wrote a novella, Off the Shelf. Once I discovered I could do that, I started planning a novel. I still dawdled a little before actually writing it, but once I started, I discovered it was addictive. Being able to describe things in much more detail, to build up more of the world, more of the characters’ backgrounds, it was exciting. And so my M/F/M erotic romance novel was born. It was just released by Xcite Books in eBook format, and will be available in print later this month.

4)   Do you have any tips or advice for aspiring writers of erotica / erotic romance?

Yes, but I’ll try and keep it brief. Read lots in your chosen genre, and see what sort of stuff is being published. Learn to edit yourself—sending error-riddled stuff to editors is not going to do you any favours. Also, please read contracts carefully. I know how exciting it is to be offered your first contract, but that doesn’t mean you should sign it without knowing what it actually means. They’re incredibly dull to read, but it’ll be worth it in the long run.

5)   Tell us a bit about your latest release.

Illicit Relations is a m/m erotic romance novella, just released by Ellora’s Cave as part of their Boys Will Do Boys series. It’s bordering on taboo, as the two lead characters are second cousins—but it’s not as risqué as you think. I can’t say why as it’ll spoil the book, you’ll just have to trust me 😉

Here’s the blurb:

Terry’s had a crush on his second cousin Justin for what seems like forever. He’s hidden it as well as possible, knowing that the other man is out of bounds, forbidden fruit. Second cousins getting together isn’t actually illegal, but for Justin the relationship is too close—he just can’t contemplate them being together.

But when some new information comes to light about Terry’s birth and his place in the family, the whole game changes. Suddenly the relationship isn’t so impossible, and things soon begin to get hot and heavy.

More info, excerpt and buy links here: http://lucyfelthouse.co.uk/published-works/illicit-relations/

Add the book to your Goodreads shelves here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18741652-illicit-relations

Thanks for joining us here on my blog, Lucy!

And it looks like Lucy’s got a giveaway for a $10 Amazon gift card going on!  Check it out! 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thanks so much for having me!

Lucy x

You’re very welcome, Lucy!  It was great having you here!

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Sexy Saturday

Leave a Reply

