Sexy Saturday: Jordan L. Hawk

Sexy Saturday Header

Welcome to another edition of Sexy Saturday!

Today’s guest is Jordan L. Hawk!  Let’s jump right into this!

Author Bio:

Jordan L. Hawk grew up in the wilds of North Carolina, where she was raised on stories of haints and mountain magic by her bootlegging granny. After using a silver knife in the light of a full moon to summon her true love, she turned her talents to spinning tales. She weaves together couples who need to fall in love, then throws in some evil sorcerers and undead just to make sure they want it bad enough. In Jordan’s world, love might conquer all, but it just as easily could end up in the grave.

Jordan is the author of the best-selling Whyborne & Griffin series (Widdershins, Threshold, and Stormhaven,) as well as the SPECTR novellas and the erotic short story “Heart of the Dragon.”

Quickie Questions:

1) What was your first experience with erotica / erotic romance?

This is going way back for me, but probably Anne Rice’s Beauty series when I was in high school and college.

2) Describe your journey from reading to writing to publication.

I’ve read books with explicit sex in them for years, but I didn’t really try my hand at writing a sex scene until I decided to write a fanfic with erotic scenes. It was fun, and people found them hot, so I thought I’d rather like to start adding sex into my original fiction as well.

3) What scene or book was the biggest challenge to write?

I’d say a sex scene in an upcoming release Destroyer of Worlds, book 5 in the SPECTR series. It took me a couple of days to write because it was a very important turning point in the relationship of the characters involved. But going by the remarks from my beta reader and editor, it’s also the hottest thing I’ve ever written. 😉

4) Do you have any tips or advice for aspiring writers of erotica / erotic romance?

Have fun! I often see writers complain on line that they “have to” write a sex scene. Let yourself go and enjoy what you’re doing. If you’ve been at writing a while and are getting bored with writing sex, switch it up. Just as with a real sex, introducing a new twist or position to your writing repertoire will help keep things fresh.

5) Tell us a bit about your latest release.

My latest release is Stormhaven, Book 3 in the Whyborne & Griffin series, about an introverted scholar and an ex-Pinkerton detective who go around fighting monsters and saving the world. The viewpoint character, Whyborne, can speak over a dozen languages but has trouble expressing his innermost feelings to his lover through words. So he does a lot of his communication with sex, because it’s just easier for him to let go and express himself that way. Although I always spend a lot of time thinking about sex scenes before I write them, I do even more planning with this series because each one is very much a conversation between the two.

Thank you so much for having me on your blog! 🙂

And thank you for joining us, Jordan!

If you’d like to find out more about Jordan L. Hawk, be sure to visit her website at www.jordanlhawk.com!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview, Sexy Saturday

Leave a Reply

