Sexy Saturday: M.A. Church

Sexy Saturday Header

Welcome to another week of Sexy Saturday, in which we meet and greet a writer of m/m erotic romance and m/m erotica.

This week, it’s my pleasure to host M.A. Church!

Author Bio:

M.A. Church lives in the southern United States and spent many years in the elementary education sector. She is married to her high school sweetheart and they have two children. Her hobbies are gardening, walking, attending flea markets, watching professional football, racing, and spending time with her family on the lake.

Recent titles: Shadows in the Night released by Dreamspinner Press. Shadows in a finalist in the Rainbow Awards.

The Harvest: Taken released by Storm Moon Press.

Quickie Questions:

1) What was your first experience with erotica / erotic romance?

LOL. Believe it or not, I ran across a free website while surfing the web a few years ago. I read some stories, but I also noticed the site had a gay male section. I clicked on it and, thank God, stumbled across a couple of stories that were very well-written. *grin* I was hooked. I ended up reading damn near every story in that category, lol.

2) Describe your journey from reading to writing to publication.

After reading stories on that free site, I decided to give writing a try. I wrote a couple of stories which were liked by the readers there. I wrote for a year and learned what I could… then entered a contest at that site. *grin* My story won first place, lol. And that’s what made me decide to try publishing.

3) What scene or book was the biggest challenge to write?

It’s actually a series that was difficult for me. The Bad Boys Club is a dark desires series. See, I normally write romance, but this series… neither main character have redeeming qualities. They both are… evil, lol. One character is a paranormal and truly devious. The human counterpoint is just as bad, lol. Truly unlikeable. The two ended up together, but it’s definitely not a ‘sweet’ romance.

4) Do you have any tips or advice for aspiring writers of erotica / erotic romance?

If you’re going to do it… then do it.

That’s what my Mom told me when I showed her my writing. And now it’s my advice to new authors. Research, find a good publisher that fits your writing, talk to other authors… then submit the damn thing. lol. Take a chance. If you don’t, you’ll never know for sure.

And be prepared for a rejection. It’s going to happen sooner or later. Just know it’s not the end of the world and do NOT take it personally.

5) Tell us a bit about your latest release.

Ahhh, lol. My latest is my baby. *grin* I wrote the series right after my Mom passed away. The Harvest is a two book series. Book 1 is The Harvest: Taken and was just released by Storm Moon. It’s an M/M romance but honestly, it’s heavy into scifi.

Thanks for joining me here on the blog, M.A. Church!

If you’d like to check out more from M.A. Church, you can find her blog here and her Twitter feed here.

3 Comments

Filed under Author Interview, Sexy Saturday

3 responses to “Sexy Saturday: M.A. Church

  1. machurch00

    Thanks for having me! 🙂
    ~M

  2. Hey Michele **Waves** Two books??? Woo Hoo! Congrats again!

    -AQG

Leave a Reply

